CCMS is accredited both regionally (HLC) and professionally (ABFSE). Our accreditation offers not only the assurance of a comprehensive curriculum, but also the benefit of knowing that all CCMS credits earned can be easily transferred to any college or university for those who opt to pursue further studies.

Accredited colleges, universities, and programs are those which are accredited by one of six regional associations. Accreditation is a non-government standards-based process which scrutinizes and reviews institutions through quality assurance and improvement, easing the transfer of credits between higher learning institutes. View accreditation agencies by state.

Our Regional Accreditation

HLC Accredited

The Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission, 230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500 , Chicago, IL 60604 (800) 621-7440. Web:

Our Professional Accreditation


The Mortuary Science degree programs at the Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science are accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education (ABFSE), 992 Mantua Pike, Suite 108, Woodbury Heights, NJ 08097,  (816) 233-3747.  Web:

Public Comment Period for HLC Visit

Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science is seeking comments from the public about the College in preparation for its periodic evaluation by its regional accrediting agency. The College will host a visit Feb 27 – Feb 28, 2017, with a team representing the Higher Learning Commission. Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science has been accredited by HLC since 1982. The team will review the institution’s ongoing ability to meet HLC’s Criteria for Accreditation.

The public is invited to submit comments regarding the college to the following address:

Public Comment on Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science
Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604-1411

The public may also submit comments on HLC’s website at

Comments must address substantive matters related to the quality of the institution or its academic programs. Comments must be in writing.

All comments must be received by January 27, 2017.