Individual License: New or Lapsed
All state licensing
State licensing requirements vary and periodically change; therefore the most reliable resource is the comprehensive listing on the National Funeral Directors Association’s website.
New Initial Licensees
Ohio Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors forms and instructions:
Lapsed / Seeking Reinstatement
Contact your state licensing board for instructions to reinstate a lapsed license.
Ohio license lapsed? Contact the Ohio Board at (614) 466-4252 for specific instructions and forms.
Reinstatement fee schedule for Ohio (as of 6-1-2015):
- Embalmers renewal fee of $150.00 + $50.00 for each month or portion of a month the license is lapsed, but not more than $1,000.00 total in late fees; possible maximum amount of $1,150.00
- Funeral Director renewal fee of $150.00 + $50.00 for each month or portion of a month the license is lapsed, but not more than $1,000.00 total in late fees; possible maximum amount of $1,150.00
Ohio Revised Code – Funeral Profession Regulations
Below we have included links for the most frequently referenced sections of the Code as a courtesy to our professionals:
Ohio Revised Code 4717 governs the regulations to the funeral profession in the state of Ohio.
Ohio Board of Embalmers & Funeral Directors – ORC 4717.02
Ohio License Qualifications – ORC 4717.05
Ohio Licensing Fees – ORC 4717.07
Ohio License Applicants to Comply with 4776 – ORC 4716.061
Ohio Continuing Education – ORC 4717.09
Ohio Definitions: Funeral Director, Embalmer, Crematory – ORC 4717.01
Ohio Prohibited Conduct – ORC 4717.13
Ohio Laws Exam
(Content and links cached 6-1-2015. Applicants and licensees should always visit boarddocs for the most up to date information.)